Top Ten Movies of the Decade

children of men

As the ’00s wrap up, I think it’s a good time to make a list for the ten best movies of the decade.

  1. No Country for Old Men (2007)
  2. Mulholland Drive (2001)
  3. Let the Right One In (2008)
  4. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
  5. Donnie Darko (2001)
  6. Inglourious Basterds (2009)
  7. Children of Men (2006)
  8. Kill Bill (2003/2004)
  9. There Will Be Blood (2007)
  10. Unbreakable (2000)

I guess this list reveals my penchant for sci-fi and Quentin Tarantino.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Top Ten Movies of the Decade”

  1. Jill Says:

    What no love for pirates of teh carribeann???!

    • J. Marshall Teegarden Says:

      Pirates was good, and maybe if I made a top 50 of the decade it would be in there. But it wasn’t quite great enough to be in the top ten.

  2. Steve Says:

    “Let the Right One In” is definitely on the list. Not “Unbreakable”, though; nothing by M.N.S. makes that cut. Maybe “Hancock”, if you need a superhero movie.

    • David H. Schleicher Says:

      Hancock? You must be joking! At least there was some “artistic” design to Unbreakable, though I ultimately thought it was not very good. Wow, I never thought I would be defending M. Night!

    • J. Marshall Says:

      Ok I guess I’ll weigh in here. Shamalayan has made mostly bad movies throughout his career, but with Unbreakable, things fell together in just the right way. Also, Hancock was enjoyable, but not good enough for any sort of top lists.

  3. Me Says:

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

Leave a Reply

