The Top Five Horror Films of the Decade

As the year 2009 wraps up, I thought I would submit another list about this decade of movies. This list of great horror films will be a shorter, more in-depth list than my last list. So without further ado, here is my list of the top horror films of the last decade.

1. Let the Right One In

Apparently, being a vampire isn’t cool or sexy, at least according to Tomas Alfredson’s Swedish horror/drama Let The Right One In. Alfredson reinvents vampires as miserable souls, and the story of a young boy and the girl/vampire next door is coldly grim instead of enchantingly romantic. Roger Ebert gave Let the Right One In 4 stars and it placed 203 on imdb’s Top 250.

2. 28 Days Later

Before Danny Boyle was an Oscar wunderkind for his Slumdog Millionaire, he made an extraordinary zombie movie that was ferociously intense.

3. The Decent

Claustrophobic and disorienting, bloody and brutal. A group of adventure-seeking women go spelunking without maps, and without knowing that the cave is infested with monsters. Watch the director’s cut for the better ending.

4. Isolation.

Deadly experimental baby cows are on the loose on an Irish farm! I know it sounds silly, but Isolation takes itself very seriously. It’s almost a crime how this great independent horror film is not widely known.

5. [REC]

[REC] is not the first film to use the “hand-held camera” gimmick, but it certainly is the best.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

23 Responses to “The Top Five Horror Films of the Decade”

  1. Kdub Says:

    I cant believe you didnt have Saw! Good list, I agree on the most part, but you should have Saw at the top IMO.

    • J. Marshall Teegarden Says:

      Saw was probably the most profitable and the most popular horror franchise of the last decade. But I don’t feel that the quality of the movie was good enough to place it in the top five.

  2. Jill Says:

    28 day laterrrrrrrrr!!!!! Awesome movie

  3. pocket watches Says:

    I Like this site your article is very nice , Thanks, very interesting article, keep up it coming 🙂

  4. Andrew Pelt Says:

    Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for first aid for a heart attack and your post looks very interesting for me.

  5. fossil watches Says:

    Hi, I applaud your blog for informing people, very interesting article, keep up it coming 🙂

  6. guia para reparar xbox 360 Says:

    Howdyall . First,allow me to say, great page . I enjoyed reading your blog .. Thanks for the nice info
    The Top Five Horror Films of the Decade Stray Cat Cinema
    guia para reparar xbox 360

  7. Drejjmit Says:

    One of my friends already told me about this place and I do not regret that I found this article.

  8. entropy Says:

    Not bad article, but I really miss that you didn’t express your opinion, but ok you just have different approach

  9. blinkx submitter Says:

    I spy with my little eye, something starting with D 🙂

  10. Leigh Acosta Says:

    Watch Free online movies. Click Here

  11. Nichelle Valery Says:

    I upright don´t see movies evolving, For me it´s suchlike the old movies, without the entire engineering artefact were often modify. They had separate.

  12. Praca Says:

    Hi, You know what, I have been searching for some more information on this topic, and wonder if anyone can help me out? I found this website on Google and would appreciate it if someone sends me some more links on this topic by email. Thanks much in advance.

  13. Banki Says:

    I to thank you for this good post .I definitely liked every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your web site to look at the latest stuff you post.

  14. wisconsin union theater website Says:

    a very great post by the author looking forward to come back more really soon.

  15. Team Roster Says:

    Maybe you could change the webpage subject The Top Five Horror Films of the Decade Stray Cat Cinema to more specific for your blog post you make. I liked the blog post however.

  16. movies Says:

    Great Post!…

    […] I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback. […]…

  17. Home Brewing King Says:

    Brewing Beer…

    This post was highlighted by Beer College in reply to this article….

  18. Nelson Noonon Says:

    Like somebody else announced what a wonderful blog this is. Normally I dont bother with a remark although for your effort and hard work you ought to get one.

  19. Jamie Iomo Says:

    Good Afternoon

    Definitely gonna recommend this post to a few friends

  20. ogloszenia Says:

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you.

  21. locksmith Says:

    Good read. I wish I could make myself write such good posts onto my own blog. I guess I just need to try harder.

  22. here Says:

    Right here you are going to discover frightening online games, terrifying pranks, terrifying photographs, terrifying videos and motion pictures, screamers, and scary pranks that we’ve collected over the years. There need to be sufficient to keep you laughing and screaming for a while, specially in the Halloween season.

Leave a Reply

